Learning to eat …

August 18, 2008

Lunch: Creamy Corn Chowder

Filed under: Lunch, Recipe — Tags: , , , — tamiofbrooksgroth @ 3:33 pm
I was going to do salad for lunch or maybe salad and a smoothie, but then I got home and simply felt like soup and we had this wonderful fresh sweet corn from our CSA yet in the fridge (already cut off the cob because I was going to make dehydrated corn crackers). I had made a Creamy corn soup sometime last week when we first got the soup, but I wasn’t sure where that recipe was so I glanced few a few other soup recipes in the cookbook at the top of the pile and came up with the following:
 
  • 2 cups of fresh raw corn
  • 2 cups of Almond milk
  • 2 cloves of ginger
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1/2 an Avocado
  • Sea Salt to taste
Then I blended it through my Soup cycle on the blender, tasted it, and yum. I used a bit more corn on top, the rest of the avocado in chunks also on top, and a bit of pepper. Yum!
 
It should be titled Corn Chowder for Two or something with all of those 2s in there … but I ate it all myself. I should have had salad or more veggies though or simply not so much soup because I was “move away from the table” full for over an hour. This is certainly a richer meal than I generally eat (all the almonds and lack of greens!). It was pure comfort food though and satisfied my cravings.
 
It was also the first time I made almond milk from scratch because I didn’t have any Almond or Hemp milk which I had been purchasing previously so I was going to think of a way to make it without the milk, but then I decided I would just quickly use the almonds that I had had soaking for 12 hours (water changed at least 3 times) to make some almond milk quickly since I had been meaning to try that. I have about a cup of the milk left to do something else with, and I was able to realize just how easy it is. I do need to get a nut milk bag or other extra fine strainer if I want to use it as a drink, but it was pretty smooth just straining through the mesh strainer I already have (not much was actually left in the strainer though which I was disappointed in because I was hoping to have some pulp to use for something).
 
I certainly shouldn’t be hungry until supper time!
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

